North Carolina Addiction Treatment Centers
The capital city of North Carolina is Raleigh,and more than 8.6 million people call this state home. North Carolina has a crime rate which is much higher than the national crime rate average by 21%, and out of every 100 crimes reported an average of 90 involve property and are nonviolent offenses. Substance abuse keeps law enforcement in North Carolina very busy. An average of 110 individuals in this state are arrested every day for DUI and it is estimated that alcohol related causes kills 7 residents every single day. The police will also arrest around 150 people each day for drug offenses and an average of 1 death per day is attributed to drug related causes.
The prisons in North Carolina hold more than 35,000 residents, many who are serving time for alcohol and drug related offenses. The probation departments in the state oversee more than 111,000 every years as well. Heroin use has increased in the state and has caused crime rates to rise as well. Cocaine is a common drug used, and the crack form of the drug is highly available in larger cities and metropolitan areas. Prescription drug abuse is a big problem, with oxycodone and hydrocodone both popular prescription drugs sought. Club drugs are also becoming more common, with LSD and ecstasy use increasing significantly.
Methamphetamine has caused chaos in North Carolina but the use and availability of this drug has declined. This decline is due to massive efforts by law enforcement to identify methamphetamine users and to locate hidden labs used to make this drug. A lot of the methamphetamine available is brought into the state from other areas but there are small amounts of methamphetamine that are produced in North Carolina as well. The most abused drug in the state is Marijuana, and the moderate climate of the state means that some of the drug is cultivated here while some of the available marijuana is transported into North Carolina from other areas.
Marijuana possession in North Carolina is usually a misdemeanor offense, but if more than 1.5 ounces is possessed this makes the charge a felony. A first offense for possessing up to .5 ounces of marijuana often leads to probation and community service but up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $200 can be assessed. Possessing more than half an ounce but no more than 1.5 ounces can mean up to 120 days in jail and a $500 fine. Possession of more than 1.5 ounces is a felony, with a possible sentence up to 12 months in jail and a varying fine which is up to the discretion of the judge.